In Debt

Most people I know, myself included, live in debt to some degree. I have heard people many times speak of being in debt “up to their eyeballs” or “so far in debt they can’t see out”. I understand these expressions more than I would like to admit. Do you know people like that? Are you that person?

The real question is: What would you do to be completely out of debt? The next time you hear someone speak about how much they owe, ask what they would consider doing to be out of debt. The answers, in my experience, is “anything”.

Although I have been speaking of monetary debt, we are or were all spiritual debtors which brings me to 1st John.

1John:2:2: And he is the propitiation for our sins: and not for ours only, but also for the sins of the whole world.

The greek word used here for propitiation is “hilasmos” and means to “assume an obligation”. As a Christian it is so uplifting to understand that Jesus assumed my obligation from the cross at Calvary. No matter what kind of “debt” I piled up in this life it had already been paid. All i needed to do was accept. One of my favorite quotes covers this very well: “He paid a debt He did not owe because I owed a debt I could not pay”. There is nothing greater than being set free from the bondage of sin and there is only One, Jesus Christ, who has already paid that debt. All you need to do is accept payment.

To Jesus be the glory, for He is truly worthy!

3 comments

  1. Great post, I really enjoyed reading it, and very true. Sometimes we need the reminders of such as this, we sometime get so caught up “in this world” we forget the ultimate price that Christ already paid.

    1. I’m glad you enjoyed it. Its such a simple message, I wish more people were receptive to it. All we can do is make sure the message goes out into all the world.

Leave a Reply

