Sufficient

The following verse has been on my mind for several days and is my favorite verse. The verse is found in 2nd Corinthians 12:9: “And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me”. This verse was a topic in one of the daily devotionals I read, which led to this writing.

The first part really finds a home in my and every other Christian’s heart. “My grace is sufficient for thee”. These words spoken to Paul about two thousand years ago have echoed through the ages and are as strong today as the time they were spoken. His grace is sufficient for me, for you, and for all those who will call upon Jesus to be their Savior. That is grace on a scale our frail minds cannot fully understand. I know how much sin His grace covered and still covers for me and it has been multiplied by all those who know Jesus as Lord. Amazing grace indeed!

Then we see the next part which says “for My strength is made perfect in weakness”. Do we think about His strength? We as humans are weak. When we, in our weakness, find ways to quit, give up, or give in, He gives us strength, hope, peace, love, joy, and determination. When we find ourselves at the brink of defeat, He declares we are “more than conquerors”. We do not do that of ourselves, we should not take credit for what He does. It is Jesus that has allowed us the strength to accomplish all things to His glory. Even in, what we perceive as, the weakness which is death, His victory is made perfect in that we move from this life to eternal life. How perfect is His strength!

This life is full of trouble. This world is full of distress and worry. Everyone comes to a point, more than once, where going on seems too hard. According to this verse we should begin to glory in these things. In this kind of weakness, Jesus shows up and with His strength we move on. We do not move on of ourselves, we move on that He be glorified. What we cannot do ourselves He will do for us. Let us glorify Him, for He is the way. It is during these times the power of Christ is upon us. As we accomplish those things we thought we could not, as we do those things we do not want to do, it is His power that is upon us. He is always showing us that His grace, strength, and power are more than sufficient, not only for me but all those who call Jesus Christ their Lord.  To Jesus be the glory, for He is worthy!

Leave a Reply

